I Want a Role Model!

This fabulous woman would be a great role model. . if she were real.

I was just reading Penelope Trunk’s (aka The Brazen Careerist’s) How To Be Lost With Panache, which I stumbled upon at the perfect time, because I had just started writing a section of my book about “being stuck” and I completely understood her need to turn to soothing things. . . such as New York Magazine to get her through tough times. I’ll be the first person to admit that “being stuck” while writing a book is, in the whole scheme of things, not such a big problem. But the more I thought about it, and the further I got along in the chapter, the more I was able to see that getting stuck while writing isn’t all that different from getting stuck in real life. You can’t think, you can’t come up with any decent ideas about what to do. . going out for a simple as a cup of coffee feels like a major life decision. Should I make coffee at home? Or should I get some fresh air? Because that might be nice. Or will that take up too much time? Is it going to rain? You get the picture. But then her post mentioned something that got me off the coffee track right quick. She mentioned that Tavi Gevinson of The Style Rookie, the only just about to enter high school fashion blogger, was her role model. She’s real, she’s a dork and she’s smart. What’s not to love? I thought long and hard about who my role model would be, and I just wasn’t sure. How can I not know who my role model is? I feel I must remedy this immediately. I’d like someone who was funny, smart, successful and being Midwestern would be a bonus. Definitely something to think about, and fyi, I’m accepting suggestions!

10 Comments

Filed under Work, Writing

10 responses to “I Want a Role Model!

  1. Erma Bombeck: Not only sharp and witty, but she was one of the first women talented and brave enough to break through humor writing’s glass ceiling. And she was an Ohio girl. (Where in the Midwest are you from?)

  2. Interesting idea. Grew up in Wisconsin. Am familiar with Erma of course, but certainly should know her work better. I’ll take a closer look! Thanks!

  3. That’s a tough one. Here’s some midwesterners: Laura Ingalls Wilder, Jane Smiley and Jennifer Crusie. I haven’t read Crusie but she’s supposedly funny. Jane Smiley is smart but I’m not sure she’s what you’d call funny.

  4. How about me? I’m funny, kinda smart, and a Midwesterner! The successful part? Hmmmm. Depends on your definition of success.

    Just kidding, of course, but I couldn’t resist throwing myself into the mix. 🙂

    How about Haven Kimmel?

  5. I like the sound of you Shelly from the midwest! Love Haven Kimmel too! Will check out your blog for sure!

  6. I love, love, love Erma Bombeck. I’m trying to think of other role models, as well. I’m afraid my brain is fried tonight. I’ll be back!

  7. I’ve been thinking about this for days… well not constantly, but you know what I mean. The one that came to my mind was Jane Pauley.
    In an age when women were scrambling for recognition in media, she worked her way up and kept her dignity.

    Linda Elerbee, whom I also love, is quoted as saying she wants to be Jane when she grows up.

    I know she’s not a writer, although she released an autobiography in 2004, but she has never sold out.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jane_Pauley

    Plus she’s from Indiana!

  8. Whitney Sparks

    I loved marylin monroe when I was little, I never thought to find a book on her, just her films, this article has really inspired me!
    Thank you!

  9. I know nothing about the midwest, but you got me thinking about who my own role model as a writer would be. Probably some combination of Anne Lamott, Pema Chodron and Harriet the Spy.

Leave a Reply

